Skip to main content
Our Video Interviews with Newbery Medal Winners

Children’s Books

Our Video Interviews with Newbery Medal Winners

Over the years, Reading Rockets has had the opportunity to interview many beloved children’s authors and illustrators. Here, we share our video interviews with winners of the prestigious Newbery Medal. 

On this page:

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. In January 2022, the Newbery celebrates a true milestone — 100 years of recognizing stellar children’s books. To learn more about the history of the Newbery and find all of the past Medal and Honor winners, visit ALA’s John Newbery Medal (opens in a new window) page.

In addition to the Newbery Medal, there are many other awards that recognize diverse voices and stories and the best in children’s and YA books. Please visit our Award-Winners page to see the current winners of the Caldecott Medal, Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award, and Pura Belpré Illustrator Award — as well as other children’s book awards from the American Library Association and other literacy organizations. 

Erin Entrada Kelly: Winning the Newbery

Newbery Medal winners (1976–present)

Kwame Alexander
The Crossover (2015)

Katherine Applegate
The One and Only Ivan (2013)

Crispin: The Cross of Lead (2003)

Kelly Barnhill
The Girl Who Drank the Moon (2017)

Beverly Cleary
Dear Mr. Henshaw (1984)

Susan Cooper
The Grey King: The Dark is Rising, Book 4 (1976)

Christopher Paul Curtis
Bud, Not Buddy (2000)

Matt de la Peña
Last Stop on Market Street (2016)

Kate DiCamillo
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures (2014)
The Tale of Despereaux (2004)

Erin Entrada Kelly
Hello, Universe (2018)

Sid Fleischman
The Whipping Boy (1987)

Jack Gantos
Dead End in Norvelt (2012)

Lois Lowry
The Giver (1994)
Number the Stars (1990)

Meg Medina 
Merci Suárez Changes Gears (2019)

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
Shiloh (1992)

Lynne Rae Perkins
Criss Cross (2006)

Linda Sue Park
A Single Shard (2002)

Katherine Paterson
Jacob Have I Loved (1981)
Bridge to Terabithia (1978)

More interviews with authors and illustrators

To see all of our author interviews, visit Video Interviews with Top Children’s Authors and Illustrators.

You are welcome to print copies or republish materials for non-commercial use as long as credit is given to Reading Rockets and the author(s). For commercial use, please contact

Related Topics

Children’s Books, Libraries